ISA is supported by a number of committees, comprised of Member Heads and Honorary Members.

Committees may co-opt additional expertise according to need.

The list of ExCo & Committee meeting dates for the 2020-21 academic year is available on request.

The Independent Schools Association committees as at 1  September 2020 are made up of the following:


The Committee monitors current academic developments and formulates the Association’s response to Members, government and related organisations.

Pam Hutley (Chair) Hollygirt School
Adrian Blake   Arts Educational Schools
Elizabeth Brown   New School, Exeter
Helen Chalmers   Hemdean House
Natasha Dangerfield   Westonbirt School
Penny Ford   Burton Hathow School
Helen Stanton-Tonner   Lyonsdown School
Tracey Wilson   St John’s Priory School
Barry Huggett   ISA Vice President
Neil Roskilly   ISA Vice President
Karen Goddard (scribe) Office Manager

The Committee monitors the Association’s finances and investments, providing advice and recommendations to Executive Council, such as membership subscriptions and charges.

John Southworth (Chair) Mander Portman Woodward
Jeff Shaw   Scarisbrick Hall School
Claire Osborn   Oak-tree Schools
Andrew Hampton   Thorpe Hall School
Helen Stanton-Tonner   Lyonsdown School
Richard Walden   ISA Vice President
Gemma Golab (attendee) ISA Accounts
Joanne Snow (scribe) ISA Finance Assistant
General Purposes

The Association’s Chairs of Committees and Honorary Officers formulate policy and responses for approval by the Executive Council.

Jeff Shaw (Chair) Scarisbrick Hall School
John Southworth (Vice Chair and Chair of FinCom) Mander Portman Woodward
Claire Osborn (Vice Chair) Oak-tree Schools
Stephen McKernan (Chair of Inspections) St Edward’s Prep
Claudette Salmon (Chair of Inclusion) Leicester Prep
Pam Hutley (Chair of EdCom) Hollygirt School
Phil Soutar (Chair of MemCom) Rosemead Prep
Rudi Eliott Lockart (attendee) ISA CEO
Karen Goddard (scribe) Office Manager

The Committee oversees the Association’s work in developing and promoting the principles of inclusion within the Association and to support  Members in developing and promoting the principles of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) in their schools.

Claudette Salmon (Chair) Leicester Prep
Dominic Price   Merton Court Prep
Dionne Seagrove   Torwood House School
Craig Wardle   Cleve House School
James Wilding   Claires Court
Barry Huggett   ISA Vice President
Sarah Lockyer   ISA Vice President
Jennie Quillen (scribe)  

The Committee reviews inspection reports and schools’ responses, recommending continuing accreditation to the Membership Committee.

Stephen McKernan (Chair) St Edward’s Prep
Pam Hutley   Hollygirt School
James Wilding   Claires Court Schools
Angela Culley   ISA Vice President
Natasha Dangerfield (co-opted) Westonbirt School
Ian Daniel (co-opted) Rushmoor School
Paul Easterbrook (co-opted) Honorary Member
Lawrence Groves (co-opted) St Faith’s Prep
Amanda Kirby (co-opted) Cundall Manor
Richard Lynn (co-opted) The Dixie Grammar School
Sarah Morris (co-opted) Birchfield School
Mike Oliver (co-opted) Brooke House
David Williams (co-opted) Tettenhall College
Geraldine Yandell (co-opted) Beech Hall School
Peter Woodroffe (attendee) ISA Deputy CEO
Lesley Rea (scribe) ISA Membership Assistant

The Committee considers applications for membership from Heads, recommending accreditation for approval by Executive Council. The Committee is constituted from the seven area coordinators, nominated VP(s) plus the Chair of ISA Inspections Committee.

Phil Soutar (Chair and LS) Rosemead Prep
Dan Sayers (LN) St Hilda’s, Harpenden
Jonathan Hetherington (LW) More House School
David Preston (M) Arnold Lodge School
Jeremy Duke (N) Highfield Priory
Dionne Seagrove (SW) Torwood House School
Pauline Wilson (E) Ursuline Prep School
Stephen McKernan   ISA Chair of Inspections
Angela Culley   ISA Vice President
Peter Woodroffe (attendee) ISA Deputy CEO
Lesley Rea (scribe) ISA Membership Assistant



The Committee comprises the Area Art Coordinators who oversee the organisation of Area Art competitions, aiming to promote the high standard of artistic and creative achievement in independent schools and encourage participation among Area schools.

Dominic Tomalin   CATS, Cambridge East
Melissa Cowie   Lyonsdown School London North
Anne Saul   Steephill School London South
Rebecca Harrison   St Dominic’s Priory Midlands
Jacqueline Reeder   Greenbank Preparatory School North
Roy Winspear   Moyles Court School South West
Joel Wareing   Claires Court London West

The Committee comprises the National Sports Officer and Assistant, and the Area Sports Coordinators (who oversee the organisation of ISA Area sports events).


Neil McCollin Princethorpe College Midlands
Sarah Dicksee Dixie Grammar Midlands
Matt Humphrey Luckley House School London West
Adam Jackson Scarisbrick Hall School North
Louise Broome Wilmslow Prep North
Liz Brown The New School South West
Jonathon Barradell The Gower School London North
Jack Hallas The Pointers School London South
Noel Smith Alleyn Court School East Anglia
Scott Brand National Sports Officer  
Emily Ward National Sports Assistant