The Executive

ISA’s Executive Council comprises approximately 30 ISA Member Heads and Honorary Members, meeting regularly to consider the issues that most affect independent education, as well as how we can improve the services that we provide for our Members and the wider educational community. Members of ISA’s Executive Council represent our constituency as elected councillors, vice-presidents, honorary officers and co-ordinators elected at Area level. All are elected to serve as directors and trustees, supporting the Association and its Members through additional committee representation in areas such as education policy, finance and inspections.

The committee meeting dates for 2019-20 are available on request.

Each year, ISA Members can put themselves forward for election to the Executive Council, as elected councillors.  The process and deadlines are circulated to all Members each year.  Click here for summary details on the nominations process.

The Independent Schools Association Executive Council as of 12 March 2020 is made up of the following:


Honorary Officers

ISA Chair Sep 2019 – Aug 2020 Claire Osborn Principal, Oak-Tree Schools
Vice Chair Jeff Shaw Scarisbrick Hall School
Vice Chair Matthew Adshead Old Vicarage School


Vice Presidents

Term of Office (as ISA VP)
Richard Walden Sep 2019 – Aug 2024
Barry Huggett OBE Sep 2018 – Aug 2023
Angela Culley Sep 2017 – Aug 2022
John Wood Sep 2015 – Aug 2020


Elective Councillors

Name School Name   Elected 
Adrian Blake Arts Educational Schools 2018
Liz Brown New School, Exeter 2018
Helen Chalmers Hemdean House School 2019
Penny Ford Burton Hathow School 2018
Andrew Hampton Thorpe Hall School 2019
Pam Hutley Hollygirt School  2018
Stephen McKernan St Edward’s Prep School 2019
Dominic Price Merton Court Prep School 2020*
John Southworth Mander Portman Woodward 2017
Helen Stanton-Tonner Holland House School 2018
Craig Wardle Cleve House School 2018
James Wilding Claires Court Schools 2018
Tracey Wilson St John’s Priory School 2019

*Filled casual vacancy

Area Coordinators

Area  Area Coordinator  School Name  Contact Number 
East Anglia Pauline Wilson Ursuline Preparatory School 01277 227152
London North Kaye Lovejoy Coopersale Hall School 01992 577133
London South Phil Soutar Rosemead Prep 020 8670 5865
London West Jonathan Hetherington More House School 01252 792303
Midlands David Preston Arnold Lodge School 01332 557130
North Jeremy Duke Highfield Priory School  01772 709624
South West Dionne Seagrove Torwood House School 0117 973 6620